Samsung Omnia W receives 2nd WP7.8 Update (7.10.8862.144)

After reading news about Microsoft seeding WP7.8 to fix Live Tiles issue, I immediately connected my phone to Zune to check update. And Surprise! There was update available message displayed on Zune without any internet disconnection method needed this time.

Zune displayed that new update 7.10.8860.142 is available for my Omnia W. Before checking for update I had only put my phone to Airplane mode to disable all wireless connection like 3G, WiFi and Bluetooth. Later I followed instructions on Zune to complete the first update.

After first update was complete, another update available message was displayed. 2nd update 7.10.8862.144 was downloaded and installed.

I hope Live Tiles issue is fixed with this update. AccuWeather, NDTV and ESPNCricinfo apps live tiles seem to be working. But we need to check more if any more issues are not present.

OS Version: 7.10.8862.144
Firmware revision number: 2424.12.04.3
Hardware revision number: 23.15.0.8
Radio software version: 0424.12.3.1
Radio hardware version: 0.0.0.900
Bootloader version: 6.4.25.0
Chip SOC version: 0.74.2.1

So only OS Version number is changed, when compared to previous update.

Given below are the screenshots for upgrade process done on 15 March 2013.

Omnia-W-Mar2013-01Omnia-W-Mar2013-02Omnia-W-Mar2013-03Omnia-W-Mar2013-04

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Mobile, Samsung Omnia W, WP7.8 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Samsung Omnia W receives 2nd WP7.8 Update (7.10.8862.144)

  1. Nimish says:

    hi SVK, just now only I am able to update my omnia to 7.10.862.144, after downloading I was keen to use bluetooth for any file transfer however I am unable to see “Bluetooth share ” application in that please suggest something since this is the only thing i wanted to update my phone to latest OS version.

  2. raj says:

    Any Idea to install Nokia Bluetooth Share app to Samsung Omnia W or other similar app??
    without unlocking or jailbraken

  3. Mohammed Noor says:

    How To update by internet disconnection method??

    • SVK says:

      Hi Mohammed, please check my previous post in which I have given detailed steps about updating to WP7.8 using internet disconnect method. Let me know how it goes.

  4. Mohammed Noor says:

    when i try to update my phone it says your phone is up to date.and it show OS version 7.10.8773.98 what should i do to update it to latest version?? Samsung Omnia Wonder

  5. Rajdeep says:

    I updated my omnia w in 7.10.8862.144 bt the music player shortcut on the lock screen disappears after the update… !

  6. Pragadeesh says:

    same problem when I connect my phone to zune it shows phone up to date any remedy pl….

    • SVK says:

      What is current version of your phone? (8107/8773).
      Please try to update by internet disconnection method? You need to get correct timing about internet disconnection.

  7. Rasul Dhawooth says:

    Will i get it for Samsung Focus I917 in india ?

  8. danish says:

    when i try to update my phone it says your phone is up to date.and it show OS version 7.10.8773.98 what should i do to update it to latest version

  9. rajendragiri says:

    Is it available in India ? I cant see any update in my zune :(

    • SVK says:

      Yes, it is available in India. It is possible that MS servers are getting lots of requests, so servers may respond that update not available.
      Keep trying I can say.

      • Sam says:

        I just got my Omnia W bumped up to version 8783…on Saturday…can i expect the 7.8 update soon???

      • SVK says:

        Hi Sam, if you have 8783, I am not sure you would get latest 7.8 upgrade. You may have to do sequential upgrade to 8858 > 8860 > 8862.

        And to get 8858, you may have to try internet disconnection method. I got 8858 by internet disconnection method. Later 8860/8862 I got directly from Zune.

  10. Viral says:

    Any update on Bluetooth file sharing for samsung Omnia W???

Comments are closed.